Eva’s Shawl – Pattern

Eva's Shawl

shawl edge
I’ve had a few requests for the pattern so I thought I would get my act together and write the pattern up. I will be putting together a pdf with a more polished version of the pattern soon, but for those who are impatient to start, here are the rough instuctions.

***Full pattern in pdf form (US terminology) is now available here ******

This pattern should work with any weight of yarn. I am using heavy lace weight for my shawls with a size 4mm hook, and a decent sized shawl takes about 100g of laceweight yarn. The shawl is crocheted top down, with increases every row, and can be made any size – just stop crocheting when it’s a bit smaller than the desired size (bearing in mind that if you are using blockable fibres (e.g. wool , alapca, cashmere) it will increase in size when it is blocked). To get a nice lacey shawl you will need to use a larger hook size than that normally recommended for the weight of yarn – play with different hook sizes until you are happy with the results.

Very important! – These instructions use UK terminology, and I will be using the following abbreviations

TC = UK treble crochet = US double crochet

DC = UK double crochet = US single crochet

Ch = Chain

Ch Sp incr = TC, Ch1, TC into Ch Space

Instructions

Chain 4 and join with slip stitch
Row 1: Ch 3 (counts as 1st TC) One TC into ring, Ch1, (2 TC into ring, Ch1) x 2, 2TC into ring, turn
Row 2: Ch 3,1 TC into base on turning ch, 1 TC into next stitch, Ch sp incr, (TC into next 2 stitches, ch sp incr) x 2,1 TC into next stitch, 2TC into top of turning ch, turn
Row 3: Ch 3, 1 TC at base of turning chain, (TC to ch1 space, ch sp incr, placing marker in ch 1 space)x 3, TC to end working 2 TC into top of turning chain, turn
Row 4 (eyelet row): Ch 3, TC at base of turning chain,ch1, miss one TC *(TC in next 2 stitches, Ch1, miss one TC) to stitch before next marked Ch 1 sp, 1 TC, ch sp increase, remove marker and place in ch 1 space of Ch Sp incr, 1 TC, ch 1, miss one TC, repeat from * 3 times, (TC into next 2 stitches Ch1, miss one TC) to end of row, 2TC into turning ch, turn
Row 5: Ch 3,  1 TC into base of turning ch,* work across to next marker, working 1 TC into each stitch and each ch 1 space, ch sp increase (replacing marking in ch 1 space), repeat from* twice, then work to end of row working 1 TC in each stitch and each  ch 1 space, 2 TC in turning ch
Here’s how it should look after the first five rows…
Eva's shawl prototype
Row 6: repeat row 3
Row 7: repeat row 4

Repeat last three rows until shawl is desired size, ending with a Row 6 row

Border
Row 1: Ch 4, skip first stitch, (DC into next st, Ch 3 skip next stitch) to end of row
Row 2: Ch 4, DC into first Ch space, (Ch 3, DC into next Ch Space) to end finishing with a Ch 4, DC into base of turning Ch from previous row.

Fasten off, weave in ends and block.

60 Responses to “Eva’s Shawl – Pattern”


  1. 1 LisaB January 25, 2008 at 2:19 am

    Thanks so much for posting this – it’s lovely! So wonderful to see laceweight yarns being used in crochet, I love it! (Got here via Ravelry)

  2. 2 thekidneybean January 25, 2008 at 2:40 am

    What a beautiful shawl! I’ve never worked with lace weight yarn before. This looks like a great pattern to try it out and I love that it can be worked with other yarn weights. THanks for the pattern!

  3. 3 obodil January 25, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    thanks for the ravelry message! now i need to find me some nice yarn to start the project.

  4. 4 jd in st. louis January 26, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    i’ve been looking for a pattern for a lace weight shawl since i found some great lace weight yarn at my LYS. now i have a reason to buy it! this shawl is just lovely! thanks SO much for offering the pattern to the rest of the world.

    i have a question though. the intro do the pattern states that it’s worked from the top down with increases. to me the ‘top’ is the neckline. am i reading this wrong? if one starts at the neckline, there should be consistent decreases. so, does it start from the ‘bottom’ or point?
    thanks,
    jd in st. louis

  5. 5 milobo January 26, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    It starts at the centre of the neck, with just a few stitches, and eight stitches are increased per row. The row edge stitches form the top edge of the shawl, which gets wider as the shawl grows.

  6. 6 Karen January 26, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Your shawl is very pretty. Thanks for sharing the pattern!

  7. 7 Eva January 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    I found your blog through the L&V Daily Chum… and although I don’t do crochet, I’ll have to make this shawl as you’ve been soooooo nice to name it after me hehehe!!!

    Cheers Eva

  8. 8 riotflower January 28, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    That’s a Very nice shawl- thank you for sharing the pattern!

  9. 9 mimi February 29, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Thanks for the pattern, I love your design!
    I have photos of my FO in my blog and on Ravelry.

  10. 10 Deneen February 29, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    It’s lovely and thanks for sharing. I just ordered some laceweight yarn to get it started!

  11. 11 Michelle March 2, 2008 at 12:35 am

    This is lovely! Thank you for sharing the pattern!

  12. 12 Sharon March 2, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Very beautiful. Thank you for the pattern.

  13. 13 Kathy March 4, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks for this pattern! I have not had success knitting with lace weight and I think I will give it a go with crochet instead!

  14. 14 Kelly April 1, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Thank you for posting the pattern. I just started it last night with some yarn I scored from the dollar store. It is working up very pretty.

  15. 15 Ann April 17, 2008 at 4:57 am

    I have some fine 2ply lace weight wool and it is coming up nicely. What I did do was do ch2 on the corners because I found it hard to see where the corners were. Now I have no problems Thank you, Eva.

  16. 16 titus2woman May 2, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    OH how lovely both this and your Carmen shawl are! *THANK YOU!* for sharing the patterns~I hope to do one of them some day…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  17. 17 Christina May 7, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I love this shawl pattern so much. I just got some beautiful lace weight to make summer shawls and this pattern works up quickly and easily. Thanks for sharing your beautiful pattern :)

  18. 18 Margaret A June 1, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I used Claudia Hand Painted Yarns, 100% silk lace, Shells on the Beach, for this beautiful shawl. The result was beautiful. The additional photo of the pattern at about 5 rows or so was a tremendous help to me. This pattern is a keeper for life. Thank you!

    Margie A

  19. 19 Fran F. June 9, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I’ve been knitting for 70+ years, and hate to admit it, but I don’t know what “lace weight yarn” is! Pardon my ignorance! My grand daughter who lives in Hawaii wants a LIGHT WEIGHT shawl for evening use, and “Eva” looks to be about perfect. Now to find the perfect yarn Thanks for your help. F.F.

  20. 20 Lynne July 3, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks for the pattern – it is one of the prettiest ones I have found. I like that it can be made any size and am going to make some up in baby sizes for the charity group I belong to!

  21. 21 misschai July 20, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Wow, I’m looking for a shawl to do for my sister for Christmas. this one makes me want to get my act together and do it.

  22. 22 Cindy August 18, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Wow! This is gorgeous! I have been looking for a shawl pattern for about a year now and here it is! I can’t wait to get started. Thank you for sharing this beautiful pattern. Cindy

  23. 23 Carrie of CKC August 22, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I’m going to make this for my husband’s step mother for Christmas this year. Thank you so much for the pattern!

  24. 24 Joni September 15, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Hi,

    Do you have the pattern for the sweater that is shown next to this shawl? It’s called a ruffle sweater.

    Thanks

  25. 25 milobo September 15, 2008 at 6:20 am

    The pattern for the ruffle sweater is available at http://www.mooseknits.blogspot.com

  26. 26 Häkelmoni September 21, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Thank you very much for the pattern of this wonderful shawl! I love it! (http://haekelmoniswelt.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/gehakeltes-farbverlaufstuch/)
    Many greetings from Germany,
    Moni

  27. 27 Dawn October 2, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Wow this is beautiful. I think I am going to have to try this one.

  28. 28 Barb C October 7, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Great looking shawl. It is to be made for a woman who is living in Hawaii, can you suggest what yarn to use, as I think anything with wool will be too hot.

    Any suggestions?

  29. 29 milobo October 8, 2008 at 6:12 am

    I think a very fine lace weight wool would be fine. I made one with Margaret Stove Artisan lace – it was very light and airy.

  30. 30 Sarah October 8, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I am making one of these using some size 5 cotton and it is coming out nice and light and pretty looking. Not warm of course but this one I am making for style and not for warmth. I did write up the pattern using US terminology to make it easier for me to follow. The designer is welcome to it if she would like to see it/use it.

  31. 31 Tasha October 8, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I love the pattern and have used it several times to make prayer shawls for my shawl ministry. thank you for the pattern.

  32. 32 Ada Lai October 11, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Gorgeous shawl. Saw this in Ravelry. As noted by someone else, it is lovely to see laceweight yarn used in crochet. I also have a bunch of sportweight yarn that I think would look beautiful in this pattern. thanks for sharing the pattern!!

  33. 33 Vicki October 15, 2008 at 3:12 am

    I am looking to make this beautiful shawl in 75% Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Nylon:
    Fingering Weight yarn. Does anyone know how many yard I will need?

  34. 34 milobo October 15, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Vicki, I haven’t made one in fingering weight, but there are a few examples of the shawl in fingering weight on Ravelry. If you a do a search on there, you should be able to see how many yards other people have needed.

  35. 35 mj February 18, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Ok, so I tried making this pattern over and over, and tried even adjusting the directions so that it might work, and somehow the directions just don’t work. Has anyone else that has posted about how great this pattern is actually tried the pattern? I can’t get it to work and now I have to find a new shawl pattern for this yarn.

  36. 36 marijune March 29, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Hello

    I am new at this and have never used anything but U.S. terms.
    If you have the pattern in U.S. terms that Sarah offered you, could you send it, please?
    Thank you for the pattern and the answer ahead of time, if you have the time to reply.
    Sincerely
    marijune

  37. 38 emy May 9, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Thanks for writing it up!

  38. 39 Bev July 3, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this shawl! I’m in the US & I’ve never used lace weight before. It mentions “heavy” lace weight. When I look for LW I find many different sizes. Approximately how many yards per 50 gram skein would be in “heavy” lace weight?
    Thanks for this lovely pattern!

    • 40 milobo July 3, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      The shawl can be made with any weight of yarn. The yarn I used for the origninal (pink) shawl was unlabelled, so unfortunately, I don’t know how many yards I used.

  39. 41 Jessica-Jean August 10, 2009 at 4:29 am

    I have nearly finished my second of the Eva’s Shawl. I’m using a spool of synthetic yarn – leftovers from some factory or other. Two shawls from one spool that only cost me a couple of bucks! Thank you for a great carry-everywhere project for hot weather!

    The first shawl was given as soon as finished; the second may end up staying with me … at least until the third one is finished!

  40. 42 Melissa September 22, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Is there anyone who has changed the pattern to US. I am having a difficult time with the directions.
    Thank you

  41. 43 Veronica October 3, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I can’t get this pattern to work either…. =[

    • 44 milobo October 4, 2009 at 7:13 am

      If you need help with the pattern please email me (my email address is on the about page).

      • 45 Melissa October 7, 2009 at 11:27 am

        I continued with the shawl, although the increases weren’t correct. Perhaps I’m not reading the instructions correctly, tore out rows a few times and started over, but still had the same problems. Finished the shawl anyway, and it is lovely, just not exactly right.

    • 46 Melissa October 7, 2009 at 11:28 am

      Good to know I’m not alone :)

  42. 47 Isabell November 13, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Has there been a correction to this pattern?

    A friend tried to make it and ran into some trouble with the pattern…just wondered if there was a correction posted.

    Thanks


  1. 1 Lime & Violet’s Daily Chum » Blog Archive » Free Pattern: Eva’s Shawl Trackback on January 26, 2008 at 8:12 pm
  2. 2 I don’t do crochet… « From Sheep to… Trackback on January 26, 2008 at 11:28 pm
  3. 3 Frog or Finish « Theviolethooker’s Weblog Trackback on February 6, 2008 at 6:34 pm
  4. 4 A Little Present For Me « Theviolethooker’s Weblog Trackback on April 25, 2008 at 8:00 pm
  5. 5 Monday, Monday! « Mommysmarketplace’s Weblog Trackback on May 20, 2008 at 3:36 am
  6. 6 Images « Stitchripper’s Weblog Trackback on June 4, 2008 at 6:36 pm
  7. 7 Needle Exchange » Saturday, Pattern Day #43 Trackback on July 19, 2008 at 12:18 pm
  8. 8 Stines Blog » Blog Archive » Nødløsning Trackback on August 24, 2008 at 12:54 pm
  9. 9 Gehäkeltes Farbverlaufstuch « Häkelmonis Hobbywelt Trackback on September 13, 2008 at 11:15 am
  10. 10 Eva’s Shawl - Spanish Translation « Without Seams Trackback on October 19, 2008 at 8:15 am
  11. 11 Rotes Häkeltuch « Häkelmonis Hobbywelt Trackback on November 23, 2008 at 6:58 pm
  12. 12 And Here’s What Happened Next « Sandras Crochet Crafts Trackback on January 19, 2010 at 2:07 am
Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

