Sock Yarn Squares

I’ve now finished the blueberry waffle socks….
blueberry waffle socks
…so I thought I would use the leftovers to crochet some more sock yarn squares. I started crocheting squares out of oddments of sock yarn about two years ago, and hopefully at some point, when I have enough of them, I will join them to make a blanket.
 I didn’t write the pattern down when I started making the squares, but fortunately it was fairly easy for me to work out what I did by looking at the completed squares. The squares are worked in back loop double crochet (UK terminology). I started out joining at the end of every round, but then decided it was easier to work in a spiral.

Here is a rough pattern for a square.

Sock Yarn Square

Important – this pattern uses UK terminology (DC = UK double crochet = US single crochet)

Using 3.5 mm hook Chain 4 and join into a circle with a slip stitch

Foundation Round: Chain one, work 12 DC into ring (adjustable ring technique could be used as an alternative if preferred)

Round 1: DC into back loop (BL) of first stitch,  3 DC into BL of next stitch (first corner made), DC into BL of next 2 stitches, 3 DC into BL of next stitch (second corner made), DC into BL of next 2 stitches, 3 DC into BL of next stitch (third corner made), DC into BL of next 2 stitches, 3 DC into BL of next stitch (fourth corner made), DC into BL of next stitch (end of first round – do not join at end of round but continue to work around the square in a spiral)

Subsequent Rounds: DC into BL of each stitch to next corner, 3 DC into BL of corner stitch. Continue working around in a spiral working 3 stitches at each corner until square is desired size. I did a total of 10 rounds to make squares of approximately 4″ across. Finish with a slip stitch at end of final round and fasten off.

This pattern works particularly well with self striping yarns (noro kureyon sock yarn would be great!) . Here are some squares I did with the same ball of trekking yarn.
trekking squares

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Sock Yarn Squares”


  1. 1 Ada Lai April 11, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    this is brilliant! I would never throw out my leftover sock yarn, but i never have quite enough to make another pair of socks. I am doing this every time i finish a pair of socks! it ought to be fun to see it all accumulate. I can see myself joining the squares for a scarf or a small blanket or whatever!

  2. 2 lauraslefthook April 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    I keep drooling over sock yarns even though I don’t knit and now you have gone and given me a pattern to use with it. I don’t know whether to thank you or not since I don’t need to add to my stash right now, lol.

  3. 3 Louise April 19, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I vote for another round yoke cardi. I made one using your suggestions in your tutorial and it was beautiful. My daughter requested pink mohair (don’t ask…) and I swatched and did what you suggested and it came out… perfect! I’m still stunned.

  4. 4 milobo April 19, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Louise, I would love to see a photo of your cardigan. I’m glad it turned out well.

  5. 5 MissBabs May 30, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Very cool way to use up the ends of sock yarn!! Thanks!

  6. 6 Catherine July 1, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Hi!

    Just to let you know, I used your pattern to make a scarf to my boyfriens and it’s great! On my blog(Catherine-dans-les-nuages.blogspot.com) I linked yours as the reference for the pattern and idea.

    Thanks!


  1. 1 resteverwertung « Perlendiva’s Blog Trackback on February 18, 2009 at 7:07 pm
  2. 2 YarnLOLogy - For the fun in fiber » How to destash – Sock yarn Trackback on January 25, 2010 at 1:39 pm
Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

