Spindle Spinning

handspun shawl sample 2

I recently had the sudden urge to try to learn to spin again. I bought a spindle and some fibre (about 200g of Bluefaced Leicester) a few years ago, but I couldn’t quite get the hand of it, so they have been languishing in my yarn storage box.

This time though, something seems to have clicked. I’m hoping to be able to spin yarn to make shawls, scarves socks in sock weight and heavy lace weight. My first attempt was too thick – when plied it came out approx DK weight. I’ve been practising for about one hour every evening over the past week, and last night I finally managed to create a 3 ply sock weight yarn.

This is a sample showing my most recent attempts.
handspun sock sample
The first (bottom) yarn is two ply, and came out too fine for socks (it also wasn’t well balanced hence the visible twist). The second (top) yarn was navajo plied. It’s actually for the same roving (some of the Bluefaced Leicester that I hadnpainted with the help of my daughters), but the colours look quite different due to the plying techniques.

I’ve also been experimenting crocheting with singles. The  photo at the start of this post shows a sample crocheted with a (rather uneven) single which was slightly underspun and then dryed with a weight after washing)

I’m really enjoying experimenting with my spindle spun, but I’ve got  a couple of christmas presents to finish  so I’ll have to resist spending too much time with my spindle until they are done!

5 Responses to “Spindle Spinning”


  1. 1 Diana Foss December 6, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Beautiful!

  2. 2 bobbinoggin December 6, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    wow.

    you have got some serious knitting/spinning/focusing skills. i could never come close!

  3. 3 Laux December 14, 2008 at 2:41 am

    So pretty! I just learned to use a spindle myself. It’s kind of hypnotizing. :)

  4. 4 Dana Loffland January 6, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Such lovely work. I fondly remember spinning on a spindle. Your spindle is gorgeous. Dana

  5. 5 Vanessa April 26, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Oh your spinning is wonderful! I just love that spindle with the small sample of the crocheted shawl you have going there. I just found you on Ravelry – I am butterflyjones07 on ravelry

    I crocheted for years – since I was 7 yrs old and learned to knit back in 1995 – just to learn how to knit socks – and now I spin and started to learn to weave on my RHL (rigid heddle loom) Kromski.

    Thanks for the shawl pattern. I am off to make a shawl for a dear friend.

    Vanessa in Upstate NY


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

