April is for……Alpacas!

alpacas

Alpaca has definitely been my fibre of the month this month. I was lucky enough to be able to visit  The Naked Sheep during our stay with my parents in Northamptonshire at Easter. It’s definitely worth a visit if you are ever in the area. The Apacas were lovely, and although I was disappointed that there wasn’t any fibre available to buy, I did come away with some nice laceweight yarn.

 lace weight alpaca

I finally finished spinning up the grey alpaca silk blend from World of Wool.  This was spindle spun. I started off using the ply on the fly technique, but  ending up finishing the rest of the fibre, by spinning singles, and then Navajo plying on my wheel.  I decided to make another Storm Cloud Shawlette with this. I really like the pattern, and can see myself making a few more of these.

alpaca silk shawlette

I’ve been doing a lot more spindle spinning this month – I got a lovely alpaca/merino/silk blend from LimeGreenJelly. I’m spinning this very fine – hoping to end up with a 2 ply laceweight

alpaca merino silk on olivewood spindle

Last but not least on the Alpaca front, my sister has requested another pair of wrist warmers. I met her in Loop (just around the corner from where she lives) and she choose some Blue Sky Alpacas Melange ( a nice tweedy DK weight).

I found a nice free pattern from Drops Designs . The yarn is slightly heavier than the recommended yarn, so it’s producing a fairly dense  fabric, but I quite like it like that. Here’s my progress so far.

wristwarmer progress

8 Responses to “April is for……Alpacas!”


  1. 1 David April 25, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Nice post and pictures. Your work is amazing. Alway respect those who can knit so well.

  2. 2 Jo April 25, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Co-incidently I’m going to be spinning alpaca at Ardingly next Sun and Mon, with the Camelids (South of England Llama and Alpaca show)
    Lovely work….what kind of spindle are you spinning the merino/alpaca/silk on?
    Joanna

  3. 4 Rebecca April 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Alpaca are so cute! I bought a small sackful of raw alpaca fibre yesterday at Wonderwool and hope to find time to start spinning some soon. I’ve not spun anything other than wool so far so I’m hoping it’s not too tricky… :)

    The Shawlette is beautiful and the wrist warmers look like they will be lovely too – such a nice colour – I look forward to seeing the finished articles!

  4. 5 emy May 11, 2009 at 8:48 am

    that’s a stunning Storm Cloud Shawlette! I love the look of the collar and bet it looks very chic on you :)

  5. 6 Phyllis May 28, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Lovely shawl. You have done a wonderful job spinning and knitting. Alpaca is my favorite fiber. It’s so soft.

  6. 7 Ale June 12, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Hola…estamos de festejo en el blog que comparto con mi amiga La Curupisa. Las esperamos.

    http://curupisa.blogspot.com/2009/06/segundo-aniversario.html

  7. 8 jackie September 27, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Wish i can visit a farm like that, having own alpacas.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

