Frog or Finish

jacob skein

October has been my finishing month. I finished spinning the Jacob yarn (see above), and decided to make a Lacy Baktus scarf -really pleased with it, and have already worn it quite a lot, although the yarn is slightly itchy.
handspun lacy baktus

There have been quite a few unfinished projects languishing in my yarn basket over the past few months. A couple of weeks ago I decided to have a clear out – mainly to make room for new fibre I bought at the IKnit day in September and the Knitting and Stitching show earlier this month (see below).

Iknit day and Knitting & stitching day fibre

I decided to be fairly ruthless, and commit to finish a few before starting another project, or get rid of any project that I don’t really like anymore. I ended up frogging a couple of things – the flared lace smoke ring, which according to my Ravelry page I started in December 2007 ( I decided I would never wear it) and the Green Liesl cardigan (really don’t like the colour at all – the yarn had gone to a charity shop). I also decided to frog the crochet alpaca lace scarf as the yarn didn’t really fit the pattern. I am now using the yarn to make the Luna Lace scarf from the Shear Spirit book. The pattern doesn’t look like much on the needles, but I’m sure it will look really nice after blocking.

alpaca lace scarf

I’ve managed to finish a pair of socks I started last December,
blue admiral

and my bog jacket – pictured here before blocking.

bog jacket

I decided to add garter stitch front  bands and a belt instead of the applied I-cord. I quite like it, but wish I had used larger needles for a lighter, less dense fabric.

5 Responses to “Frog or Finish”


  1. 1 Tracie October 28, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I absolutely love the bog jacket. It’s awesome!

  2. 2 RacineDKringle October 29, 2009 at 10:51 am

    The Luna Lace scarf you are working on is beautiful! I know when I did mine that blocking did open it up quite a bit (and evened out my wonky stitches. I’m still a newbie.)

    Your scarf is gorgeous, I just added the pattern to my queue!

  3. 3 Jo October 29, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Have you tried soaking the baktus in hair conditioner or fabric conditioner…worth a try.

  4. 5 vashti braha November 5, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Your first photo of the yarn had me drooling and then each project is so beautiful that I have to tell you so.
    Great to see a bog jacket fit and drape the way it does on you. I’ve been enjoying everyone’s different Baktus scarves. Regarding the itchiness, one time I made a scarf with Classic Elite Montera (wool and llama). The LYSO warned me it could be itchy as a scarf, and it was. She told me to steam it lightly, and the steam would soften the llama. It did!


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

