Eva’s Shawl – Pattern updates

kauni eva progress

I decided to start another Eva’s shawl with the Kauni yarn I bought at the Knitting and Stitching Show. This provided me with the perfect opportunity to finally putting the pattern together into a PDF file. I changed the instructions to make them clearer (I hope!). I also changed the terminology from UK to US. I thought long and  hard about this – as I am British, I wanted the original instructions to be in UK terms, but quite a few people have commented that this was confusing. I toyed with making separate UK and US versions, but decided it was easier to go with the US terminology – as most available patterns use US terminolgy, British crocheters are probably more used to converting than US crocheters – I hope this is OK, and would welcome further comments!

 I have also updated the Spanish translation as there was an error in row three.

I am really enjoying working with the Kauni Yarn – the colour changes are fascinating. I have some reservations about the brightness of the colours (I usually go for more muted tones), but I love the way it looks so far.

11 Responses to “Eva’s Shawl – Pattern updates”


  1. 1 Deneen October 25, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks so much for putting the pattern in pdf format and US terms-it’s a wonderful pattern.

  2. 2 Mångsysslare October 25, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Thank you very much for the pattern. I have made a shawl in evilla preyarn. You can see it at my blogg. Unfortunately it’s only in Norwegian language. I skiped the third last row because I was worried that I had to little preyarn for all rows. Now I still have some preyarn. It will be a mini Evas shawl for a doll. I think you will find that too in my blogg soon.

  3. 3 Rachel October 25, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    That’s beautiful! I love the colors and how its working out in the shawl.

  4. 5 Jill November 6, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Hi, I found your lovely Eva’s shawl on Ravelry, and would love to try it, but I can’t download the pdf. I don’t normally have any problems, but I get “file cannot be found”. Other people have clearly downloaded it so I can’t understand this!

    I also like your new chevron cardi and would also like to try that once the pattern becomes available (and hope that the same thing doesn’t happen with the pdf!). I was interested to see that you used New Lanark wool – I live south of Glasgow but had never heard of this wool. It looks gorgeous on their website, and I might buy some… Thanks for sharing.

  5. 6 catsmum November 9, 2008 at 12:06 am

    I’m a bit sad that you find it necessary to pander to US inability to cope with the rest of the world’s terminology
    WE manage with converting their stuff for heaven’s sake. It’s not like all US crocheters are completely helpless and hopeless surely. Give them credit for having at least as much brain as the rest of us.

  6. 7 Jo November 30, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Love the shawl! A friend made one and I almost didn’t give it back to her….lol. The shape is perfect! Will be making one for myself very soon. Thanks so much for sharing the pattern.

  7. 8 Stasia January 7, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    That yarn looks lovely.

    Thank you for making the pattern available – I’ve added it to my Ravelry faves and hope to make it soon! Great shape!

  8. 9 Tracy March 11, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I love your design. Thank you for sharing it. I’ve made one. It was quick and wasy to do and I love how it drapes over my shoulders. A real winner.

  9. 10 Lesia May 27, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Thank you for your beautiful patterns. As to US v UK from an American perspective – I just want to know which one the designer is using. I have this fear I will realize on row 14 that there is a reason nothing looks right.

    I don’t think you should have to translate from what seems right to you to what is right for me, but I thank you for doing so.

  10. 11 Bethel of Bethania June 20, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Thank you for such a lovely pattern… truly a love shawl & it looks so easy… can’t wait to find the time to make myself one… OOroo… Bethel


Comments are currently closed.




