Handspun textured scarf

sticksandstring2

I’ve enjoyed spinning a few textured batts recently, and have been looking for a pattern to use with small amounts of textured handspun. I found a nice simple stitch pattern and came up with this scarf

handspun textured scarf 3

Unfortunately I only had about 50g of yarn, so the resulting scarf is a bit short – just long enough to tie around my neck ( I really needed 75 – 100g), but I’m pleased with the effect, and will be using the stitch pattern again

Here’s the pattern:

I used approximately DK weight yarn (approx 11 wpi), and started with a foundation Ch of 19 Ch using a 5.5mm hook to make a scarf approx 5 inches wide. The stitch pattern is a multiple of 2 + 1

Using UK terminology**

Row 1:  miss 2 Ch, insert hook into next Ch, *2 Half trebles together inserting hook into next 2 Ch, Ch1, repeat from * to end working one half treble into last Ch

Row 2: Ch2, miss 1 st, *2 half trebles together inserting hook into Ch1 space, and then into next stitch, Ch1, repeat from * to end working one half treble into top of turning Ch

Repeat row 2 until scarf is desired length or you run out of yarn, fasten off

**For those using US terminology use half double crochet instead of half treble.

1 Response to “Handspun textured scarf”


  1. 1 Amelia Garripoli December 13, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I like short scarves — one thing I do with them sometimes is add buttons, so they’ll stay around my neck on the really cold days. Pretty yarn, and nice stitch to show it off!


Comments are currently closed.



November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Flickr Photos